By Txts20belle

I think this is the one time of year (along with a few others) that I enjoy being a NASCAR fan.  The All-Star race is slated for Saturday night at Lowe’s Motor Speedway.  This is the one race during the year where there are no points to be racing for, but a cool, crisp, $1,000,000 payout.  That’s right folks ONE MILLION DOLLARS!  This is where the boys get to race for fun–well that’s how I see it.  I mean look at last year’s race the Busch brothers took each other out.  Who wouldn’t take out a family member for the all that money?  I know I would. 

This is also the week where the pit crews get to shine as well.  I really like watching the Pit Crew Challenge. Most of the time these guys do they jobs week in and week out without much fanfare.  They get their drivers on and off pit road in a matter of seconds which they make look easy all the time.  Of course there is nothing easy about working on pit road.  The winner of the Pit Crew Challenge gets bragging rights for the rest of the year, plus the driver gets the first pick in the pit selection for the All-Star race.

There are several events that will be surrouding the All-Star event including the inaugural Pennzoil Victory Challenge prior to the All-Star race.  Five drivers will compete in a timed-competition where they must demonstrate certain skills for a victory celebration.  The four skills to be judged are: a tire-smoking doughnut, spectacular donuts, precision driving into “Victory Lane” and of course speed.  According to Humpy Wheeler, “the burnout contest gives us a chance to hihlight what has become an exciting part of race day.  It also gives these drivers the opportunity to light ’em up for the fans.”

One more thing…have you purchased your NASCAR Day pin?  I have and I am ready for NASCAR Day on Friday.  I will be wearing my Tony Stewart garb to work as well as my pin.

I, like the rest of my fellow NASCAR fans, will be enjoying the race on Saturday night with their beverage of choice.  Because if the All-Star race is any indication of balls to wall racing, then we will all have lots to discuss come Sunday morning.